"A Training Solution Provider delivering Learning Skills to keep forever"

Call the JCS training team free now 0800 5425 150 Or mail Email | training@jcstraining.com

ITIL® 4 Foundation Certificate Course Duration 3 Days

Course Overview

The ITIL® 4 Foundation Certificate course provides comprehensive first-level training for anyone involved in provision, support, or delivery of IT-enabled services in a modern digital organisation.


The ITIL® 4 Foundation Certificate course provides comprehensive first-level training for anyone involved in provision, support, or delivery of IT-enabled services in a modern digital organisation.

The ITIL 4 Foundation course teaches the fundamentals of the very latest version of the most widely adopted guidance on IT service management (ITSM) in the world.

ITIL has been a recognised source of best practice for over 30 years, and the recent update takes into consideration the move into a digitised world, with organisations more reliant than ever on IT. Still the ultimate in IT best practice, ITIL 4 builds on all the best things from ITIL and expands IT and service operations into the future.

ITIL 4 will enable IT professionals to support their organization on their journey to digital transformation and support world-class digital services.

  • ITIL 4 helps to successfully navigate the modern digital world
  • ITIL 4 provides a holistic picture of IT enabled service delivery
  • ITIL 4 reflects and integrates other established ways of working
  • ITIL 4 incorporates all the best things from ITIL

ITIL 4 Foundation introduces delegates to the Service Value System (SVS) which describes how all the components and activities of the organisation work together as a system to enable value creation. The ITIL SVS supports many work approaches, such as Agile, DevOps and Lean as well as traditional process and project management, with a flexible value-oriented operating model.

Axelos explains the change as follows:

What has changed?

The changes we have made mean that ITIL 4 offers a practical and flexible basis to support organizations on their digital journey. We have considered the impact of technology on business and how the framework integrates with Agile, DevOps and supports digital transformation.

The key elements of ITIL 4 are the four dimensions, the guiding principles, the move from processes to practices, and the Service Value System, providing a holistic approach to the co-creation of value through service relationships.

Service value system

The service value system (SVS) is a key component of ITIL 4, which facilitates value co-creation. It describes how all the components and activities of an organization work together to enable value creation. As the SVS has interfaces with other organizations it forms an ecosystem and can also create value for those organizations, their customers and stakeholders.

At the heart of the SVS is the service value chain – a flexible operating model for the creation, delivery and continual improvement of services. The service value chain defines six key activities: plan; improve; engage; design and transition; obtain/build; and deliver and support. They can be combined in many different sequences, which mean the service value chain allows an organization to define a number of variants of value streams, e.g. the v3 service lifecycle.

The flexibility of the service value chain allows an organization to effectively and efficiently react to changing demands from stakeholders.

The four dimensions

A holistic approach to service management is key in ITIL 4. It defines four dimensions that are critical to the successful facilitation of value for customers and other stakeholders.

The four dimensions are:

  • Organizations and people: An organization needs a culture that supports its objectives, and the right level of capacity and competency among its workforce.
  • Information and technology: In the SVS context, this includes the information and knowledge as well as the technologies required for the management of services.
  • Partners and suppliers: This refers to an organization’s relationships with those other businesses that are involved in the design, deployment, delivery, support, and continual improvement of services.
  • Value streams and processes: How the various parts of the organization work in an integrated and coordinated way is important to enable value creation through products and services.

It’s essential that an appropriate amount of focus is given to each of these dimensions so that the SVS remains balanced and effective.

Guiding principles

ITIL 4 has seven guiding principles. The guiding principles as such are not new, and they are meant to help IT professionals adopt and adapt ITIL guidance to their own specific needs and circumstances.

The ITIL 4 seven guiding principles are:

  • Focus on value
  • Start where you are
  • Progress iteratively with feedback
  • Collaborate and promote visibility
  • Think and work holistically
  • Keep it simple and practical
  • Optimize and automate

They allow professionals to define approaches and navigate difficult decisions and should be followed at every stage of service delivery.

ITIL 4’s focus on collaboration, automation, and keeping things simple, reflect principles found in Agile, DevOps and Lean methodologies.

From processes to practices

ITIL has so far used “processes” to manage IT services. The update expands the processes so that elements such as culture, technology, information and data management can be considered to get a holistic vision of the ways of working.

This is known as “practices”, a fundamental part of the ITIL 4 framework. The SVS includes 34 management practices, which are sets of organizational resources for performing work or accomplishing an objective.

The ITIL practices share the same value and importance as the current ITIL processes but follow a more holistic approach.

The holistic approach

ITIL 4 puts service management in a strategic context. It looks at ITSM, Development, Operations, business relationships and governance holistically and brings the different functions together. By doing this, ITIL 4 has evolved into an integrated model for digital service management.

Why ITIL 4?

There is a simple answer to that. ITIL 4 will help IT professionals compete in an increasingly complex market and ensure that they stay relevant. Start building your career with ITIL or reaccredit from ITIL v3 to demonstrate your digital skills and meet your career goals.

Foundation course content

The course is comprised of interactive learning sessions; exercises which reinforce the knowledge gained and practice exam questions. In preparation for taking the certificate exam on the final day, delegates will need to plan to spend 90-120 minutes each evening on revision and example examination questions.

The course culminates in a one-hour multiple-choice examination for the ITIL 4 Foundation Certificate and is a pre-requisite for the further training in ITIL 4. The exam is multi-choice. There are 40 questions to be completed in 60 minutes. The pass mark is 26 correct answers from 40 (65%).

At the end of this three-day course, attendees will have an understanding of the following:

  • Key concepts in the ITIL 4 framework that build upon Lean, Agile, DevOps, and other practices, and how these enable business value to be co-created
  • The seven guiding principles of ITIL 4
  • ITIL service value system, including the service value chain
  • The four dimensions of service management
  • The ITIL practices, with a focus on 15 of these, of which 7 will be covered in detail